ขอคิดดูก่อน Sleep on it


เวลามีคนถามเราว่าจะตัดสินใจยังไง แต่เราให้คำตอบทันทีไม่ได้ ต้องการเวลาไปคิดไตร่ตรองดูก่อน ไปนอนคิดดูก่อน อะไรประมาณนั้น ให้ลองใช้สำนวนนี้ดูกันนะคะ

sleep on it      = to not make an immediate decision about a plan or idea, but to wait until the next day in order to have more time to think about it; to make a decision after sleeping the entire night

หรือง่ายๆ ขอคิดดูก่อน ไม่ได้เก็บเอาไปนอนคิดอะไรก็บอกว่า I will think about it.

Reference: http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/sleep+on+it

 

ดูบทสนทนาไปด้วย

จิมชวนแดนไปทำงานช่วงปิดเทอมหน้าร้อนที่ภูเก็ต แดนตัดสินใจไม่ได้ว่าจะทำงานหรือจะลงเรียนซัมเมอร์ดี ขอไปนอนคิดดูก่อน

Take time to make a decision
ใช้เวลาคิดในการตัดสินใจ

Jim:      Hi Dan. What’s your plan for summer?

Dan:     Ah, I haven’t planned anything yet.

Jim:      Hey. Why don’t you join me in a working holiday at Phuket?

Dan:     Sounds great…but, I don’t know man. I told my parents about getting a job but they didn’t want me to work. For me, I really want to make some money, but there’s a summer course that I may have to re-enrol.

Jim:      Well. We still have time to take that course in the next summer. Think about it, alright?

Dan:     I'll sleep on it. I’ll get back to you before Friday. Is that OK?

Jim:       Friday is fine because I need to tell the hotel personnel department who are on board on Saturday, so that they can provide us the accommodation.

Dan:     That’s cool. Thanks Jim.

 

หมายเลขบันทึก: 386473เขียนเมื่อ 20 สิงหาคม 2010 08:06 น. ()แก้ไขเมื่อ 23 มิถุนายน 2012 03:32 น. ()สัญญาอนุญาต: ครีเอทีฟคอมมอนส์แบบ แสดงที่มา-ไม่ใช้เพื่อการค้า-อนุญาตแบบเดียวกันจำนวนที่อ่านจำนวนที่อ่าน:


ความเห็น (3)

ขอบคุณค่ะ

เขียนได้น่ารักและให้ความรู้ดีค่ะ

1. sleep on it กรณีที่เป็น Past Tense ต้องผัน sleep เป็น slept ด้วยไหมครับ

2. กรณีที่ต้องคิดหลายเรื่องต้องเปลี่ยน it เป็น them ด้วยไหมครับ

ขอบคุณครับ : )

สวัสดีค่ะ ขอบพระคุณคุณพี่ Bright Lily ที่แวะมาอ่านค่า

ขอตอบเรื่อง sleep> slept on it นะคะ

Yes- I think we can make it into a past tense form. "Dan slept on it last night and now he's ready to give Jim the answer."

However, most of idioms are sets of word with special meaning, so in this case, it's not common to change it > them.

Take another example, we say "Can you 'give me a hand' not 'give me hands' which mean "Can you help me?".

Cheers.

 

พบปัญหาการใช้งานกรุณาแจ้ง LINE ID @gotoknow
ClassStart
ระบบจัดการการเรียนการสอนผ่านอินเทอร์เน็ต
ทั้งเว็บทั้งแอปใช้งานฟรี
ClassStart Books
โครงการหนังสือจากคลาสสตาร์ท